ResidualVM Forum

ResidualVM :: Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 27, 2020 9:00 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 559 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 538 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 327
Location: aka ThunderPeel2001
With ResidualVM now opening up Grim Fandango to us all, I was wondering if a Remastering process could be started. The way I see it there are two things which could be done:

1. Improve texture quality.

2. Remodel the characters.

Ender previously offered to share his knowledge when ResidualVM caught up, saying this was all very easy to do, so while I'll bug him, is there anyone else with knowledge to share?

---

UPDATE: We've moved to our own subforum thanks to the generosity of the ResidualVM team!

http://forums.residualvm.org/viewforum.php?f=2


Last edited by JohnnyWalker2001 on Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:19 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 327
Location: aka ThunderPeel2001
Ok, so everything I will be messing with lives inside DATAxxx.LAB files. It seems that both the .3do files and .mat files have been altered in some way.

I've tried viewing the textures in MatMaster, but it maps the palette incorrectly -- so you can see the shapes, but the colours are all wrong.

Does anyone know of a good tool for dealing with .mat files?

Thanks.

Edit: It seems that .mat files usually come with a palette file. Does anyone know where I can find Grim Fandango's palette file?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 327
Location: aka ThunderPeel2001
Ok, I've managed to figure a few things out:

.mat files contain textures, sometimes several. To extract the BMPs use a tool like MatMaster 2.0, but you need to connect it with the right colormap (.cmp files) to get the right colours.

I found Manny's head and suit (m_eye.mat and m_s_chest.mat from within DATA000.LAB -- connected with suit.cmp).

I opened the BMPs up, converted them from 128x128 to 256x256 and drew all over them and re-saved them (in OS/2 format).

I then recompiled a .mat file and then recompiled the .lab using BGBennyBoy's ResourceCompilerCreator tool.

Unfortunately this is what I saw:
Image

The textures don't scale down and add detail, they just display really big. Is there something ResidualVM can do about this?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:34 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 139
Location: Belluno, Italy
Just guessing: the materials have the width and height of the textures stored. Did you fiddle with them?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 327
Location: aka ThunderPeel2001
Quote:
Just guessing: the materials have the width and height of the textures stored. Did you fiddle with them?
No, that .mat files have only the following text in them:
Code:
MATM
FILENAME: m_eye.mat

TEXTURES: 1
m_eye-0.bmp
(Presuming you mean the .mat files?)

Also, there's nothing in the .3DO files that suggest 128x128 that I could find :-(


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:39 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:44 am
Posts: 325
the width and height for materials are read in binary, not text by the engine, other than that, I don't know where they are defined.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:44 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 139
Location: Belluno, Italy
Quote:
Quote:
Just guessing: the materials have the width and height of the textures stored. Did you fiddle with them?
No, that .mat files have only the following text in them:
Code:
MATM
FILENAME: m_eye.mat

TEXTURES: 1
m_eye-0.bmp
(Presuming you mean the .mat files?)
Look at material.cpp. Maybe the tool you're using doesn't show them but they have a width and height field.
Quote:
Also, there's nothing in the .3DO files that suggest 128x128 that I could find :-(
There shouldn't be anything about that in the .3do, yes.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 327
Location: aka ThunderPeel2001
Quote:
Look at material.cpp. Maybe the tool you're using doesn't show them but they have a width and height field.
Nice. You're absolutely right. Does anyone know where the width and height are being read from?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:21 pm
Posts: 19
Quote:
With ResidualVM now opening up Grim Fandango to us all, I was wondering if a Remastering process could be started. The way I see it there are two things which could be done:

1. Increase texture quality.

2. Remodel the characters.

Ender previously offered to share his knowledge when ResidualVM caught up, saying this was all very easy to do, so while I'll bug him, is there anyone else with knowledge to share?
3. Use the existing model meshes as control points for rendering higher-poly version using an interpolating subdivision surface scheme.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:59 pm 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:44 am
Posts: 325
The current meshes have VERY few polygons. Just take a look at Glottis.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:49 pm 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 139
Location: Belluno, Italy
Quote:
Nice. You're absolutely right. Does anyone know where the width and height are being read from?
You can see that in material.cpp. The width is usually at offset 76+num_images*40, the height at 80+num_images*40.
The value of num_images is instead at offset 12.

But .mat files are quite a mistery to me. They have a lot of data which ResidualVM doesn't use and i don't know if that's just garbage or if it means something.

@ Mogul
Hey, welcome on this forum :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:21 pm
Posts: 19
Quote:
@ Mogul
Hey, welcome on this forum :)
Thanks. I haven't got much time to think about GF anymore, but I'll try to keep up for a bit. Thanks for keeping the torch burning.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 327
Location: aka ThunderPeel2001
Quote:
3. Use the existing model meshes as control points for rendering higher-poly version using an interpolating subdivision surface scheme.
Yep, that's definitely a possibility. Getting the model meshes into something like Maya where I could comfortably mess around with them is a whole other issue, unfortunately.

Could you share any insights that might help any part of this process?
Quote:
You can see that in material.cpp. The width is usually at offset 76+num_images*40, the height at 80+num_images*40.
The value of num_images is instead at offset 12.
Thanks, I'm getting to understanding what's going on now, although I'm still not sure which *file* the offset is being read from. (Edit: I see you're saying it's in the .mat files?)

As for remodelling/increasing the polygon count, Ender had the following to say last time I asked him: "It's a very simple matter to add in a slab of code [to ResidualVM] to load whatever format you want. I'd suggest Cal3D, for which there are 3DS Max, Maya and Blender exporters at least."

Does this make sense to you clever programmer types? :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:23 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:44 am
Posts: 325
Sure, or OBJ for that matter, as long as it's a documented format, it shouldn't be that hard to add, the main issue would be detecting that the files are non-standard I guess.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:11 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 139
Location: Belluno, Italy
Quote:
Thanks, I'm getting to understanding what's going on now, although I'm still not sure which *file* the offset is being read from. (Edit: I see you're saying it's in the .mat files?)
Yes, in the .mat files.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 559 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 538 Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited