Wintermute

General chat related to ResidualVM
Post Reply
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Location: a dying planet

Wintermute

Post by Raziel »

Just checking...is the Wintermute engine in-tree supposed to already work?

Because on my local build i tried to run Bickadoodle and i get no video output.
residualvm just sits there displaying the warning requester about a not fully supported game.

The sound and music plays, but it never siwtches to the game screen.
I CAN however bring up the RTL menu with CTRL+F5, but i CANNOT use it since the mouse cursor is also gone.

This is on a PPC/BE machine using the SDL/OpenGL backend.

Like i said, just checking since it's a very new addition, but maybe i can help debugging with BE flaws?
aquadran
Site Admin
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:15 pm

Re: Wintermute

Post by aquadran »

No, it's work in progress. it's part of GSoC task.
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Location: a dying planet

Re: Wintermute

Post by Raziel »

Yes, i know and i'm following the work closely (not to put him under even more pressure) :-)

Just wanted to check if there'll be a difference in gameplay speed, cause the games crawl for me under scummvm.
Then again, if the 2D part is a "simple" c&p (which i know it isn't) there probably won't be any speed gain.

Anyway, good luck and thank you
aquadran
Site Admin
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:15 pm

Re: Wintermute

Post by aquadran »

Wintermute under ResidualVM will gain 2D gfx speedup, it will use OpenGL renderer.
Right now it's copy and paste from scummvm. Its initial import as it was mentioned in commit.
There is PR which will add simple 2D renderer over OpenGL. But it's not final version and it's not part of gsoc goal. It's just exercise step to use 2D bitmaps under 2.5D games.
After gsoc we can look into to make it pure opengl h/w.

btw. you can join Discord https://discord.gg/VFQjRfa
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Location: a dying planet

Re: Wintermute

Post by Raziel »

Yes!!! :-)
Awesome.

Are there plans to move the complete wintermute engine to residualvm or only the 3D part (long distance plans)?

wrt Discord.

No, i can't unfortunately, my browser is not capable of using the site (blank page).
That's one of the many joys of being part of a niche (and not maintained) platform community :-)
aquadran
Site Admin
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:15 pm

Re: Wintermute

Post by aquadran »

Not sure what you mean by "move". imported wme code from scummvm is complete engine minus 3d.
3d part is not scope for scummvm, that is for residualvm.
in the end, both projects will have complete engine. but on scummvm side 3d part will be disabled.
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Location: a dying planet

Re: Wintermute

Post by Raziel »

What i meant was, since residual and scumm are sister projects, if one (in that case scummvm, due to it's missing 3D availability) will drop the wintermute engine completely in favour of having 2D, 2.5D and 3D wintermute games all in one place (in that case residualvm).

But maybe a merge of the two projects will hit first ;-)
aquadran
Site Admin
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:15 pm

Re: Wintermute

Post by aquadran »

scummvm will not drop wme. it has own scope of target devices which will target 2d games.
also scummvm already support like myst3 pseudo 3d games.
technically it could support all residualvm games using tinygl.

and there are no plans for merge projects.
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Location: a dying planet

Re: Wintermute

Post by Raziel »

Got it.

Thank you
Post Reply