ResidualVM Forum

ResidualVM :: Forum
It is currently Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:22 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GLError checking
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 107
Location: a dying planet
Would it be possible to add GLError checking to residualvm, or, if there already is a mechanism, how do i activate/use it?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: GLError checking
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 7:22 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:48 pm
Posts: 207
If you're simply enabling error checking for debugging, here is what I would do: (in descending order of convenience)
- Use gDEBugger or AMD CodeXL and break on error
- Use apitrace or Renderdoc and check the error log
- If your OpenGL implementation is new enough or has the right extensions, use the OpenGL debug hooks
- If your OpenGL implementation is open source, put a breakpoint on the function that sets the error flag
- Finally, if nothing else works, patch the code to wrap all OpenGL calls with a wrapper that calls `glGetError`.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: GLError checking
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 7:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 107
Location: a dying planet
@Botje

Thank you, i'll go with the easiest...have yet to find out which, probably apitrace (guess something like this exists on AmigaOS4)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: GLError checking
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 107
Location: a dying planet
1) i don't have a working debugger (gdb is buggy here)
2) glsnoop (apitrace for AmigaOS) does not display any errors (then again it's alpha)
3) The debug hooks sound interesting, but are beyond my capabilities
4) It is opensource, but i'm nowhere near to add anything or compile a working one myself
5) heh, sure :-/

Guess i'll try to catch something with the buggy debugger


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: GLError checking
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 9:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 107
Location: a dying planet
Nope, debugger is buggy

I assume it's an unsupported PixelFormat, since i had something similar lately in ScummVM's BladeRunner engine.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited