ResidualVM logo Forum Index - ResidualVM website - Contact us - Rules Login    Register     Search curved edge
It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 2:52 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
Hi playing grim fandango through normal installation but crashed half way through and just closes itself. really cant find a way around it so googled and found residual.

installed residual and cant work out a way to load my previously saved game. I am half way through and cant face re-doing it all in case it still crashes and closes when I get to the same point.

Any way to load a previously saved game that was not run through residual in the first place?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 1:20 pm 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:44 am
Posts: 323
No, there is no support for Grim Fandango retail-saves, BUT, there are "cheats" in the game, as the game is divided into 4 parts that have no dependencies on each other (you won't need items from previous parts to complete the next).

Simply put, you can add "game_devel_mode=true" to residual.ini (see README), and then use ctrl-g to jump to the start of a part, or j to jump to a specific part with a few items in inventory (the latter was put in to test certain puzzles it seems).

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/residual/index.php?title=Grim_Fandango_Debug_Mode lists the sets (ctrl-g points, just drop the ".set" part), and jump-points (just press j in-game to jump to any of them).

How far did you get? I might be able to point you to a usefull jump-target.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
ah thats brill. this probably sounds stupid, but where exactly do i need to enter that?

i got up to the bit after the boat and i was trying to take the light off the dude walking around the sea

thanks for this!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
ok i think ive put that code in the right place as now in game play through residual it comes up with a box when i press ctrl and g.

however... when i enter somewhere to go, for example (rip) or (os) it then doesnt take me anywhere?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 4:08 pm 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:44 am
Posts: 323
You typed those in without the parenthesises right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
yeah


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 5:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
its working!!! thank you very much for your help!!!! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina, adopted for ResidualVM
curved edge   curved edge