ResidualVM logo Forum Index - ResidualVM website - Contact us - Rules Login    Register     Search curved edge
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:03 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How to get grim working!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:21 pm
Posts: 4
So ive got it up to the insert cd a screen!
i use cd port F:/ as my cd thing is this the reason that it wont start? if so is there any way I can change the settings in residual to get it to read from the f:/ drive??
or is this a common problem with a different solution!

Fishhook!
cheers!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 9:18 am
Posts: 101
ResidualVM is designed to be used by copying the data files for Grim Fandango to you hard drive see here for the files needed:
https://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ ... =Datafiles

Then with the new gui you can open ResidualVM and click on add and point it to the folder you copied the Grim files to (don't worry that you can't see files your not meant to).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 2:25 pm
Posts: 56
Ezekiel000 wrote:

Just so you know... that link links to a password request from sourceforge.

If you are having problems too, to get the page remove the "s" at the end of "https". Otherwise click this link:

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/r ... =Datafiles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:21 pm
Posts: 4
well... i added the GRIMDATA folder in the cd to be the extra path in residual and it now works!
however it is clear that this is an early build!
too many errors to list! but I cant wait to see a finnished version!

BTW whos hoping for a re released version of grim now that tim's finnished on brutal legend??
heres hoping!
fishhook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:21 pm
Posts: 4
btw this topic has had like 80 hits but no one else has commented...

can we get some grim fandango love going?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 61
Location: amigans.net
fishhook wrote:
BTW whos hoping for a re released version of grim now that tim's finnished on brutal legend??
heres hoping!
fishhook

I'd rather have a sequel to Psychonauts...

...offtopic...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 2:25 pm
Posts: 56
fishhook wrote:
BTW whos hoping for a re released version of grim now that tim's finnished on brutal legend??
heres hoping!
fishhook

That would be awesome! They should give it a complete graphical overhaul. (Real 3D environments instead of pre-rendered) Manny and the other characters have to look the same though (original cutscene quality), and the old music has to be kept.

If not, a port to the iPhone would be cool. I want to play it on the go. XBLA would also be nice.

A new Grim Fandango would also be good! It could be made alongside Telltale games, and could follow the idea that the Number 9 didn't get to The Land of Eternal Rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 9:18 am
Posts: 101
I don't think the pre-rendered scenes need to be 3D in a remake just a higher resolution render, but it would be nice for the in game characters to match the fmv models.

They'd have to rework the controls for an iphone port.

I'm not keen on the idea of a sequel as it's not open ended, but a prequel might work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 2:25 pm
Posts: 56
Ezekiel000 wrote:
I'm not keen on the idea of a sequel as it's not open ended, but a prequel might work.

I suppose that would be better. It would be good to have some idea what Manny did in his life that he had to work for the DoD. However, you do get the impression that his death has been completely boring and uneventful before the events of Grim Fandango. I really want the story to follow Manny, and it does, of course, have to take place once he is dead.

I suppose it could follow Eva in The Lost Souls Alliance... Manny could still feature in it, even if he isn't the main character.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:54 pm
Posts: 10
I generally just don't get on with full 3D games. It's the reason I never got Simon 3D, traded in my version of Gabriel Knight 3 the same day as I got it after a couple of hours play, only played Broken Sword 3 and 4 once even though I've played the first 2 a few times each.
I'm sure there are more examples. I've never found that the third dimension has added to the gameplay in any way.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:21 pm
Posts: 4
Red_Breast wrote:
I generally just don't get on with full 3D games. It's the reason I never got Simon 3D, traded in my version of Gabriel Knight 3 the same day as I got it after a couple of hours play, only played Broken Sword 3 and 4 once even though I've played the first 2 a few times each.
I'm sure there are more examples. I've never found that the third dimension has added to the gameplay in any way.


I completely agree with this, i find the newest broken sword unplayable and lots of tohers rubbish too!

but in my opinion grim is the only one that works, and works well! its only when he runs into walls that its a bit annoying!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:29 pm
Posts: 5
You guys should check out the new Monky Island from Telltale.
Now that they can get away with a 3D engine that allows face animation and high polly characters, it all actually looks nice.
3D allows certain puzzles and plot developments that would take up waaay to many frames of animation otherwise.
You can for example gradually change the character animations and clothing while the story develops and not end up with an unmanageable mountain of pictures frames.

Ofcause I agree that MI4 would have been a lot better in 2D, but that is just because LA jumped on the 3D train at least 5 years to early.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:54 pm
Posts: 10
bobdevis wrote:
You guys should check out the new Monky Island from Telltale.
Now that they can get away with a 3D engine that allows face animation and high polly characters, it all actually looks nice.
3D allows certain puzzles and plot developments that would take up waaay to many frames of animation otherwise.
You can for example gradually change the character animations and clothing while the story develops and not end up with an unmanageable mountain of pictures frames.

Ofcause I agree that MI4 would have been a lot better in 2D, but that is just because LA jumped on the 3D train at least 5 years to early.


I've been putting off the latest Monkey Island and go for the disc release when it's released.
I considered buying it from WiiWare but I'd need to update to the console's latest system version to shop online. There's probably a tool to do it at WiiBrew but whilst I originally used a hack to use homebrew for Wii Scummvm I don't do much more with it.
I'm afraid I'll brick it even though I have a nand backup just in case.

Do you know if any of the new game's episodes play with Wine? I'm sure I've played Telltale's SamnMax OK with it before.

I played the fourth Monkey Island game not long after it was released on PC. When the Playstation 2 version came out I rented a copy as a relative had the console and I played it and remember thinking that I wish I'd played it on PS2 first. The PS2 gamepad made the difference I think. I don't think I'd come across any good PC gamepads at that time.
I've enjoyed all the series up until now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:29 pm
Posts: 5
Red_Breast wrote:
I've been putting off the latest Monkey Island and go for the disc release when it's released.
I considered buying it from WiiWare but I'd need to update to the console's latest system version to shop online.
[...]
Do you know if any of the new game's episodes play with Wine? I'm sure I've played Telltale's SamnMax OK with it before.


There is a very nice thread about Linux and Telltale games here;
http://www.telltalegames.com/forums/sho ... hp?t=10820
As you can read there, I hang around at that forum too and have posted my own solution as well.
You can experiment with the PC version demo before you buy anything.

When you order the PC version directly from Telltale, you get to play the episodes directly and get the DVD release with bonus content shipped to you after all the episodes are done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:54 pm
Posts: 10
bobdevis wrote:
Red_Breast wrote:
I've been putting off the latest Monkey Island and go for the disc release when it's released.
I considered buying it from WiiWare but I'd need to update to the console's latest system version to shop online.
[...]
Do you know if any of the new game's episodes play with Wine? I'm sure I've played Telltale's SamnMax OK with it before.


There is a very nice thread about Linux and Telltale games here;
http://www.telltalegames.com/forums/sho ... hp?t=10820
As you can read there, I hang around at that forum too and have posted my own solution as well.
You can experiment with the PC version demo before you buy anything.

When you order the PC version directly from Telltale, you get to play the episodes directly and get the DVD release with bonus content shipped to you after all the episodes are done.


I have big problems when it comes to new games.
I have 2 PCs.
One with WinXP (usually - it runs on CF cards so I can swap OSs, like Haiku). 1.6Ghz P4. 1GB RAM. Radeon 9660 pro (no onboard graphics on mobo possible)
The other Debian. 3Ghz P4 with Hypert. 2GB RAM. SiS On-board graphics.

I played the recent Special Ed. of Monkey Island on my stepfathers PC when I visited him in Dubai on vacation not so long back.
I have the PC version of the first SamnMax season which my WinXP just about manages and like I said I'm sure I played it with Wine once. The OS itself is on a 266X speed CF card with the game installed to an external USB2.0 drive.

I've read about the Wiiware versions of Tales not being so good as the PC versions (more compression?) and I don't really want to update the Wii. It is possible to update and still use homebrew but then you leave the safety of Team Twiizers and throw yourself to the lions.
I'm going to try the Tales demo as explained in the first post of the link with Wine but that PC only has on-board graphics so I don't know.

Other than that I think I'd need to swap things round if that's possible. Put XP on the 3GHz PC, Debian on the 1.6GHz and buy a graphics card capable of playing the game. I think I read that Tales needs a 2GHz minimum CPU. The thought of doing all this though doesn't bare thinking about. As well as a new gfx card I'd need a new hard drive as well. Once I've got them I wouldn't have money left for any games!

Then again I have a 360. I keep meaning to buy a points card to buy the Special Edition of the first game and I've read that Tales might appear on XBLA as well. You can already get SamnMax on XBLA.

So I'm not really sure what to do at the moment. I'm hoping Telltale will make an announcement soon one way or the other.

Thanks for linking anyway. It will be interesting to try the Wine method.

Edit:
Well I tried with Wine and the demo of the game. I think it was loading but I had a 1 frame about every 5 seconds frame rate. I had to hit the power switch to get out of it. I know SiS on-board is bad but I'd hoped the 3Ghz CPU and 2GB RAM would at least give a better frame-rate.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina, adopted for ResidualVM
curved edge   curved edge