ResidualVM logo Forum Index - ResidualVM website - Contact us - Rules Login    Register     Search curved edge
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:00 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:20 pm
Posts: 3
Before i buy Grim Fandango I need to know if ResidualVM and Grim will run on my iMac g3 400mhz , 1gig of ram, 8mb ati rage video, and os tiger 10.4/ os9.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 61
Location: amigans.net
jackraider wrote:
Before i buy Grim Fandango I need to know if ResidualVM and Grim will run on my iMac g3 400mhz , 1gig of ram, 8mb ati rage video, and os tiger 10.4/ os9.

If residualvm runs, then GF will run, albeit maybe too slow.

You could check by downloading the demo of GF here.
Speed-wise it will be pretty much the same as the full game.

Though you'll need a winpc to unpack it as the .exe cannot be processed by residualvm (read: you will need the data files)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:10 am
Posts: 37
The demo win executable is only a WinZip self-extracting package. I was able to extract its contents on my Linux machine with unzip.

Anyway, yours machine specifications are very close to the original requirements of GF, so I'm not really sure if ResidualVM is so optimized to match the performances of the official executable. It would be nice if you could share with us yours results with ResidualVM on this machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:20 pm
Posts: 3
okay, so do I need a zip extractor to open .exe or something like virtualPC?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:10 am
Posts: 37
I think you can use a zip extractor, at least it's a quick try


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:20 pm
Posts: 3
okay, and do i need to compile mac version on ppc version or is the program all set up for use?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2013 9:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:10 am
Posts: 37
I don't know want you mean, but I think that you can use pre-compilated version of ResidualVm from here


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:29 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:44 am
Posts: 322
I _know_ that it atleast starts and runs decently on a G4 1.67 Ghz with 1.5 MiB RAM (OS X 10.5.8), the binaries are compiled for 10.4 or later (both Intel and PPC), and should thus work for your machine too in theory.

I remember doing some testing on a G4 867 MHz machine, can't remember how slow that was, and you are talking about a machine with less than half of that power, so can't really say. I guess the bigger question is whether our code works fast enough on that ATI-card your iMac is equipped with.

I'd be interested to know how fast (or slow) it runs on your machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina, adopted for ResidualVM
curved edge   curved edge