ResidualVM logo Forum Index - ResidualVM website - Contact us - Rules Login    Register     Search curved edge
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:33 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:35 pm
Posts: 3
I've done some searching on these threads and have seen people with similar issues, but don't understand how to remedy this.

I've included all of the LAB and TAB files in my folder on my Macbook Pro desktop, and included the patch file as well. The program recognized this folder and called the file grim-win, the game Grim Fandango (Windows/English), and then the language and OS were unchangeable. When I click start, the message that is the subject of this post appears. Any help?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:23 pm 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 139
Location: Belluno, Italy
You put the gfupd101.exe file with the .LABs or did you install it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:35 pm
Posts: 3
I put the file with the LAB ones


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:35 pm
Posts: 3
So I didn't install it. I was under the impression that Wine wasn't necesary to run Grim Fandango is that wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:10 am 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 139
Location: Belluno, Italy
No, it's not. I'm not sure what your problem is. Try posting a list of all the files you have in the grim directory.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 61
Location: amigans.net
Maybe his "extra" path points to somewhere else than the game data directory and as such residualvm will look for the patch file elsewhere?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:40 pm 
Offline
ResidualVM Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:44 am
Posts: 322
Raziel: The game-directory is always in the search-path, so if it can find the .LABs, it also should find the gfupd101.exe if it resides there. (IIRC it even looks there first, I seem to remember having an older version of the residualvm-lab (which we supply with the installation) lying there and making trouble for me).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 324
Location: aka ThunderPeel2001
I'm also having this issue.

Here's the contents of the directory:

Code:
CHORE.DLL (81,408)
CREDITS.LAB (19,399)
DATA000.LAB (29,163,069)
DATA001.LAB (116,140,627)
DATA002.LAB (115,377,732)
DATA003.LAB (65,997,693)
DATA004.LAB (81,392,084)
DATA005.LAB (438,267)
GRIM.TAB (362,212)
GRIMFANDANGO.EXE (1,136,640)
HMIFXFP.DLL (100,352)
HMIFXLIB.DLL (66,560)
HMILIBS.INI (40)
IMUSE.DLL (141,824)
IMUSE.PSL (848)
LUA.DLL (182,784)
MOVIE00.LAB (7,121,597)
MOVIE01.LAB (119,199,457)
MOVIE02.LAB (70,712,720)
MOVIE03.LAB (88,576,747)
MOVIE04.LAB (107,184,933)
NULLMUSE.DLL (18,432)
Patch05.bin (53,730)
VOX0000.LAB (4,315,773)
VOX0001.LAB (58,011,176)
VOX0002.LAB (93,358,525)
VOX0003.LAB (38,906,667)
VOX0004.LAB (38,561,440)
YEAR0MUS.LAB (6,995,569)
YEAR1MUS.LAB (61,363,647)
YEAR2MUS.LAB (81,147,716)
YEAR3MUS.LAB (43,866,360)
YEAR4MUS.LAB (63,489,389)


Edit: Working now. It appears that ResidualVM now only recognizes the actual patch .EXE file.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:24 pm
Posts: 2
I'm trying to play Grim Fandango on my Macbook Pro. I downloaded ResidualVM today and copied the necessary files from my original Grim Fandango CDs and added the patch file. ResidualVM tells me my version of Grim Fandango is unsupported. What am I doing wrong?

Image

Here are the files

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 10:40 pm
Posts: 20
yennifer82 wrote:
What am I doing wrong?


I believe ResidualVM expects the patch file to be named Gfupd101.exe, not Gfupd101-1.exe.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:24 pm
Posts: 2
Changing the filename absolutely worked! Thank you so much! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina, adopted for ResidualVM
curved edge   curved edge